FSD Logo - White

Afghanistan

FSD has been working in Afghanistan for more than 20 years. The organisation has several demining, risk education and mine victim assistance teams.

Explosive ordnance risk education for children in Afghanistan

In areas of the isolated province of Badakhshan, FSD-teams educate the population on recognition of hazardous devices and how to react appropriately to avoid accidents. (Afghanistan, 2022)

Afghanistan

Context

Afghanistan is one of the countries most contaminated by mines and explosive remnants of war, a legacy of nearly four decades of armed conflict.

The country’s remote northeastern region of Badakhshan represents 15% of the contaminated territory. FSD operates in an area where many mine accidents occur. It is a region isolated from the rest of the country by a mountain range with limited access to international aid. 

Often involved in accidents: “butterfly” mines, are well-known small green plastic devices that were dropped by Soviet helicopters during the conflict in the 1980s.

More than one million butterfly mines reportedly remain in the country.

The Taliban takeover in 2021 has further hampered humanitarian activities due to interruptions in funding, complications during border crossing closures and the prohibition of the delivery of risk education to women and girls over the age of twelve.

Some children have no option but to cross mined areas to reach school.

Said Omar

School Director in the Darwaz region

Said-Omar
Afghanistan

Mine clearance

FSD deminers locate and destroy anti-personnel mines and explosive ordnance, remnants of the Soviet occupation. FSD deminers have so far cleared some 3.5 million square metres of former battlefields and minefields. This involved neutralising more than 44 000 explosive devices.

Two deminers on the mine clearance line in Afghanistan
AFGHANISTAN

Risk education

In areas not yet cleared, FSD teams teach the population how to recognise dangerous devices and how to react if they come across such items to avoid incidents. Cattle herders and children are among the most vulnerable groups.

More than 100 000 Afghans have learnt through educational sessions in villages, schools and pastures about the risks of explosive ordnance.

A group of Afghan men educated about mine dangers
AFGHANISTAN

Mine victim assistance

Since 2018, FSD has worked alongside local communities to evaluate the needs of survivors of mine accidents to provide them with appropriate support. The aim is to enable the survivors to contribute to their families’ needs as well as to reintegrate into society and resume economic activity. Punctually, FSD also provided logistic support so that 21 mine victims could attend prosthetics fittings at a hospital operated by the International Committee of the Red Cross in Faizabad.

Around 100 victims have already benefited from FSD’s support and in 2022 more than 400 mine victims had their needs assessed.

Mine accident survivor, Afghanistan
Timeline

FSD in Afghanistan

In 2001, FSD participated in the clearance of mines from Kandahar Province in the southeast of the country. This was mandated by the World Food Programme and the United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs.

About ten years later, a second demining project was implemented in Badakhshan Province, in the northeast of the country, close to the border with Tajikistan. The project included demining and risk education activities.

Due to restrictions related to the Covid-19 pandemic and the change of government in Afghanistan in 2021, several changes had to be made. A new operational base was set up in Kunduz, making it possible to deploy additional demining teams in the region and the neighbouring province of Balkh.

Year after year, FSD teams have seen that many mine victims live in dire socio-economic circumstances and receive no assistance. Following a private donation appeal, a programme to support these victims was put in place in 2019. This appeal proved to be essential for the continuity of this project since, following the change in government in 2021, several major donors suspended funding.

FSD carries out its activities in Afghanistan with the support of the U.S. Department of State, PATRIP, GGL Austria and other private donors.

Stories

News from Afghanistan

Survivor of an accidental antipersonnal mine explosion, Rahmi

Beehives as a second chance

After a mine accident, Rahmi Ali had to give up farming, his only source of income. Thanks to the support of the FSD, he has become a beekeeper and can once again provide for his family.

Equipment test

🧐 DEMINER CHECK-LIST

Regular equipment checks are a crucial daily step prior to demining that ensures the safety of our teams on the ground. Deminers check that their detectors are working properly by testing them on a small piece of metal.

Explosive ordnance risk education for children in Afghanistan

Prevention = lives saved

Afghanistan is one of the countries with the highest number of mine victims in the world. According to the Landmine Monitor, more than 17,000 mine casualties […]

CENTIMETRE after CENTIMETRE

In 2022, our Afghan teams cleared more than 200’000 m2 of terrain and located over 2,000 explosive devices and items of abandoned ammunition.

newsletter

Where is FSD currently working in Ukraine? What does a landmine look like? Answers to your questions, once a month.

  • News from the field
  • Demining videos
  • Interviews with experts
  • Events
  • Job offers
Iraqi deminer trained to the use of a detector

FSD Logo - White

Afghanistan

La FSD travaille en Afghanistan depuis plus de 20 ans. L’organisation compte à ce jour plusieurs équipes de déminage, de sensibilisation au danger des mines et d’assistance aux victimes d’explosions accidentelles.

Explosive ordnance risk education for children in Afghanistan

Dans la province isolée du Badakhshan, les équipes de la FSD apprennent aux habitant·es à reconnaître les engins dangereux et à adopter les bons comportements pour éviter les accidents. (Afghanistan, 2022)

Afghanistan

Contexte

L’Afghanistan est l’un des pays les plus contaminés par les mines et les restes explosifs de guerre, funeste héritage de près de quatre décennies de conflit armé.

La province reculée du Badakhshan, dans laquelle la FSD opère, au nord-est du pays, représente 15 % du territoire contaminé. De nombreux accidents se produisent dans cette région isolée du reste de l’Afghanistan par une chaîne de montagnes, donc difficile d’accès pour les secours et l’aide internationale.

Souvent impliquées dans des accidents: les mines “papillon”.

Ces engins en plastique vert ont été largués par les hélicoptères soviétiques lors des affrontements contre les moudjahidines dans les années 1980. On estime qu’il en reste plus d’un million dans le pays.

Depuis la prise de pouvoir par les talibans en 2021, les opérations humanitaires de la FSD en Afghanistan ont été entravées en raison de l’interruption de certains financements, des complications liées à la fermeture des frontières et de l’interdiction de dispenser des séances de sensibilisation auprès des femmes et jeunes filles de plus de douze ans.

 

Certains enfants n’ont pas d’alternative que de traverser des zones minées pour atteindre l’école.

Said Omar

Directeur d’une école dans la région de Darwaz

Said-Omar
Afghanistan

Déminage

Dans les montagnes de l’Hindu Kush les démineurs de la FSD localisent et détruisent les mines antipersonnel et les munitions non-explosées, vestiges de l’occupation soviétique. 

Plus de 3.5 millions de mètres carrés d’anciennes zones de combat et de champs de mines ont été sécurisés à ce jour, ce qui a impliqué la neutralisation de plus de 44’000 engins explosifs. ‍ 

Two deminers on the mine clearance line in Afghanistan
Afghanistan

Sensibilisation

Dans les zones qui n’ont pas encore été déminées, les équipes de la FSD apprennent aux habitant·es à reconnaître les engins dangereux et à réagir adéquatement face à cette menace afin d’éviter les accidents. Parmi les groupes les plus vulnérables figurent les berger·ères et les enfants. 

Plus de 100’000 Afghan·es ont ainsi été sensibilisé·es lors de séances données dans les villages, les écoles et sur les pâturages. 

A group of Afghan men educated about mine dangers
Afghanistan

Assistance aux victimes

Depuis 2018, la FSD profite de ses contacts avec les communautés locales pour évaluer les besoins des rescapé·es d’explosions accidentelles et leur apporter un soutien ciblé. L’objectif est de favoriser leur réinsertion socio-économique et de leur permettre de mieux subvenir aux besoins de leur famille. Ponctuellement, la FSD a également fourni un soutien logistique pour que 21 victimes de mines puissent assister à des appareillages de prothèses dans un hôpital géré par le Comité international de la Croix-Rouge à Faizabad. 

Une centaine de victimes ont déjà bénéficié du soutien de la FSD et, en 2022, plus de 400 victimes de mines ont vu leurs besoins évalués. 

Mine accident survivor, Afghanistan
Chronologie

La FSD en Afghanistan

En 2001, la FSD a participé au déminage de la province de Kandahar, dans le sud-est du pays, sur requête du Programme alimentaire mondial et du Bureau des Nations unies pour la coordination des affaires humanitaires. 

Une dizaine d’années plus tard, un second projet de déminage et de sensibilisation au danger des mines a été entrepris dans la province reculée de Badakhshan, au nord-est du pays, à la frontière du Tadjikistan. 

En raison des restrictions liées au Covid-19 et du changement de gouvernement en 2021, des changements ont dû être effectués. Une nouvelle base opérationnelle a été mise en place à Kunduz, permettant de déployer des équipes de déminage supplémentaires dans la région et dans la province voisine de Balkh. 

Lors de leurs rencontres avec les communautés locales, les équipes de la FSD ont rencontré de nombreuses victimes de mines dans une situation économique et sociale désastreuse ne disposant d’aucune assistance. Suite à un appel aux dons privés, un programme de soutien a été mis en place en 2019. Cet appel s’est avéré essentiel pour la continuité de l’action humanitaire de la FSD en Afghanistan lorsque, suite au changement de gouvernement en 2021, plusieurs donateurs importants ont suspendu leur financement. 

La FSD mène ses activités en Afghanistan avec le soutien du Département d’État des États-Unis, de PATRIP, de GGL Autriche et d’autres donateurs privés. 

Actualités

Nouvelles d’Afghanistan

Survivor of an accidental antipersonnal mine explosion, Rahmi

Des ruches pour une seconde chance

Suite à un accident de mine, Rahmi Ali a dû abandonner l’agriculture, sa seule source de revenus. Grâce au soutien de la FSD, il est devenu apiculteur et peut à nouveau subvenir aux besoins de sa famille.

Equipment test

🧐 LA CHECK-LISTE D’UN·E DÉMINEUR·EUSE

Le contrôle régulier de l’équipement est une étape cruciale du déminage, qui permet d’assurer la sécurité de nos équipes sur le terrain. Les démineur·euses vérifient quotidiennement le bon fonctionnement de leur détecteur en le testant sur une pièce de métal.

Explosive ordnance risk education for children in Afghanistan

Prévention = vies sauvées

L’Afghanistan est l’un des pays qui compte le plus grand nombre de victimes de mines au monde. Selon le Landmine Monitor, plus de 17 000 victimes de mines […]

Centimètre par centimètre

En 2022, nos équipes afghanes ont déminé plus de 200’000 m² de terrain et localisé plus de 2’000 engins explosifs et munitions non-explosées.

newsletter

Où la FSD travaille-t-elle actuellement en Ukraine? À quoi ressemble une mine? Des réponses à vos questions, une fois par mois.

  • Nouvelles du terrain
  • Vidéos de déminage
  • Interviews d'expert·es
  • Événements
  • Offres d'emploi
Démineuse en plein travail, en haut d'une colline