FSD Logo - White

Ukraine

FSD’s programme in Ukraine started in 2015. Initially active in the Donbass region, our team has expanded to meet the considerable needs of the ongoing war. Since August 2022, our deminers have been locating and clearing mines and explosive remnants of war in the provinces of Chernihiv and Kharkiv. In parallel, we are stepping up our risk education campaigns to teach safe behaviour to people living in contaminated areas and thus prevent accidents.

Emergency demining teams in Ukraine

These deminers are inspecting a field in Chernihiv Oblast (Ukraine, 2022)

Around one hundred FSD personnel are working in the provinces of Chernihiv and Kharkiv

December 2022 / The fighting in Ukraine has left behind hundreds of thousands of anti-personnel mines, anti-vehicle mines and unexploded or abandoned munitions. According to Ukrainian authorities, almost a third of the country is contaminated. These dangerous remnants of war not only threaten the lives of civilians, but also obstruct humanitarian efforts, hamper reconstruction and prevent farmers from accessing their fields.

As a response to this acute crisis, FSD set up a new operational base in Chernhiv and doubled its workforce. forty-two new deminers were recruited among the local civilian population and have been trained by our experts.

In November 2022, the security situation allowed FSD to deploy several teams to Izum, in Kharkiv Oblast, a city that had been occupied for six months and was heavily littered with explosive ordnance. Hundreds of explosive devices have already been located and neutralized by our teams.

To date, the FSD has a total of eight specialised battlefield clearance teams, three mechanical clearance teams, three non-technical survey teams and four risk education teams.

The role of the non-technical survey teams is to assess the extent of contaminated areas and to map them. These teams meet with the local population and use all available sources to locate the most contaminated areas and identify the most urgent areas to be cleared.

Explosive ordnance risk education campaigns are essential to help civilians live in relative safety with this ongoing threat. These are conducted face-to-face in local communities and online via social networks to reach as many people as possible.

Centimetres after centimentres

In 2021, our deminers have cleared 8.5 km², an area equivalent to half of Geneva. This work requires constant concentration despite the sometimes extreme working conditions.

In Izioum, the fighting has destroyed most of the civilian infrastructure. Here we find hundreds of explosive devices every day.

Olexandr Marchenko

Ukrainian FSD deminer

Olexandr Marchenko FSD

News from Ukraine

Prevent a civilian from getting killed or maimed. Donate today

Help us prevent mine accidents

The ongoing conflict in Ukraine is littering cities and farmland with massive amounts of unexploded ordnance. Every contribution, regardless of the amount, helps us rid the country of these lethal remnants of war.

CNN-reporters-in-Chernihiv-Ukraine-flotter

OUR TEAMS IN THE PROVINCE OF CHERNIHIV

CNN reporters joined one of FSD’s emergency teams clearing land from mines and dangerous unexploded ordnance in Chernihiv, Ukraine.
Ukraine: After the explosion of an ammunition storage area, time has come to begin clearance activities.

Clearing mines after an explosion

Ukraine: After the explosion of an ammunition storage area, time has come to begin clearance activities. Yahidne, a village two hours north of Kiev, is now sadly known as a “martyr village” of the war in Ukraine. […]
Ukraine

Mine clearance

FSD deminers work to decontaminate areas where the fighting has stopped. Mines and unexploded ordnance are excavated and neutralised to allow residents to move around safely and farmers to plant their crops.

FSD Clearance team member excavating an explosive device in Ukraine
Ukraine

Support to education

Until February 2022, FSD participated in the rehabilitation of schools and kindergartens situated along the former contact line in the Donbass region. This project has been suspended.

Support to education, Ukraine
Ukraine

Risk education

FSD teams conducts campaigns in villages and in schools to educate people, especially the youngest, who are the most at threat, of the dangers of mines and unexploded ordnance.

Risk awareness campaigns are also offered online, through Facebook, on the dedicated FSD page BezMin.info

FSD Explosive ordnance risk education teams in Kharkiv

FSD in Ukraine

FSD’s involvement in Ukraine dates back to the beginning of 2015, in the Donbass region. The aim was to minimise civilian casualties by teaching people to “live with” mines and unexploded ordnance in relative safety until all contaminated areas are cleared.

In 2017, FSD began a demining programme to locate and destroy explosive devices. To date, almost 5 million square metres of land have been inspected and cleared.

In late 2019, a new project was launched to increase access to education in conflict areas. When FSD staff visited schools and kindergartens for their mine risk education missions, they saw the extent of destruction of schools and the devastating impact of the conflict on the daily lives of children.

Following a special appeal for donations, FSD was able to conduct a needs assessment in schools and kindergartens along the frontline and began the rehabilitation of damaged facilities.

In 2022, as the fighting intensified and spread throughout the country, FSD’s activities were reoriented to provide emergency humanitarian aid (food, shelter, medicines, fuel, etc.). As soon as the security situation allowed, demining and risk education were resumed, now in the provinces of Chernihiv and Kharkiv.

Our activities

Our humanitarian programmes focus on four main areas.

logo mines

Mine action

FSD locates and clears mines and unexploded ordnance, provides explosive ordnance risk education and assists survivors of accidental explosions.

logo relèvement

Recovery & stability

FSD supports ongoing peace processes in various countries and provides socio-economic support to communities.

logo protection environnement

Environment

FSD remediates sites contaminated by toxic pollutants inherited from the past and act to promote biodiversity and resilience to face climate change. 

logo innovation

Innovation & technology

FSD collaborates on research projects aiming to put new technologies, such as drones, at the service of mine action.

newsletter

Where is FSD currently working in Ukraine? What does a landmine look like? Answers to your questions, once a month.

  • News from the field
  • Demining videos
  • Interviews of experts
  • Events
  • Job offers
Iraqi deminer trained to the use of a detector

FSD Logo - White

Ukraine

Le programme de la FSD en Ukraine a débuté en 2015. Initialement active dans la région du Donbass, notre équipe s’est agrandie afin de répondre aux besoins considérables liés à la guerre en cours. Depuis août 2022, nos démineurs éliminent les mines et les restes explosifs dans l’oblast de Tchernihiv. En parallèle, nous intensifions nos campagnes d’éducation aux risques afin d’enseigner les comportements sûrs aux personnes vivant dans les zones contaminées.

Emergency demining teams in Ukraine
Sept équipes de déminage d’urgence de la FSD sont actuellement actives dans l’oblast de Tchernihiv. (Ukraine, 2022)

Nos unités de déminage d’urgence sont actives dans l’oblast de Tchernihiv 

Septembre 2022 / Le conflit actuel en Ukraine a considérablement contaminé les villes et les terres agricoles de quantités massives de munitions non explosées et d’autres restes de guerre mortels. Cette contamination menace non seulement la vie des civils, mais entrave également les efforts humanitaires, freine la reconstruction et empêche les agriculteurs d’accéder à leurs champs et de cultiver leurs récoltes.

En réponse à cette crise majeure, la FSD a établi une nouvelle base opérationnelle à Tchernhiv et a doublé ses effectifs. Quarante-deux nouveaux démineurs ont été recrutés parmi la population civile locale et ont été formés par nos experts.

Ils sont désormais déployés dans sept équipes mobiles réparties dans l’Oblast de Tchernihiv, chacune composée de cinq démineurs, d’un chauffeur, d’un médecin et d’un traducteur. Des centaines d’engins explosifs ont déjà été localisés et neutralisés.

Nos équipes d’enquête non techniques sont également actives dans la région pour évaluer et cartographier les zones contaminées. Ces équipes rencontrent la population locale et utilisent toutes les ressources disponibles pour localiser les zones contaminées les plus urgentes à déminer afin d’aider les autorités ukrainiennes à établir des priorités dans le processus de déminage.

Un grand nombre de civils sont déjà rentrés en Ukraine, alors que le conflit est toujours en cours et les terres encore jonchées de mines et de munitions non explosées. Pour prévenir les accidents, des campagnes d’éducation aux risques des mines continuent d’être menées via les réseaux sociaux et lors de sessions en face à face dans les villages pour aider les civils à vivre en relative sécurité avec cette menace permanente.

Des formations spécifiques pour le personnel de la FSD sont menées pour renforcer les capacités de nos équipes. En outre, des équipes de déminage mécanique seront bientôt déployées pour accélérer la décontamination des terres agricoles.

Centimètre par centimètre

En 2021, nos démineur·euses ont sécurisé 8,5 km², une superficie équivalente à plus de la moitié de la ville de Genève. Ce travail nécessite une concentration intense dans des conditions parfois extrêmes.

Pour aider les agriculteurs ukrainiens à assurer la récolte à venir sans risquer leur vie, il est essentiel de débarrasser le sol des engins explosifs.

Alex van Roy

Chef adjoint des opérations

Alex van Roy - FSD

Nouvelles d’Ukraine

Aidez-nous à empêcher que les restes explosifs de guerre ne fassent davantage de victimes civiles. Faites un don aujourd'hui

Aidez nous à prévenir les accidents de mines

Le conflit en Ukraine laisse les villes et les terres agricoles lourdement contaminées par des munitions non explosées. Chaque contribution, quel que soit son montant, nous aide à débarrasser le pays de ces vestiges de guerre.

 

CNN-reporters-in-Chernihiv-Ukraine

NOS ÉQUIPES DANS LA PROVINCE DE TCHERNIHIV

Des journalistes de CNN se sont rendus à Tchernihiv en Ukraine pour suivre une équipe de déminage d’urgence de la FSD. Découvrez les images de ces démineur·euses chargé·es de débarrasser les terres des dangers explosifs.
Ukraine: After the explosion of an ammunition storage area, time has come to begin clearance activities.

DÉMINER APRÈS UNE EXPLOSION

Après l’explosion d’un lieu de stockage de munitions à Yahidne, une petite localité située à deux heures au nord de Kiev, les expert·es de la FSD ont entamé le déminage d’une partie du village. Ces restes explosifs constituent une menace permanente pour les ouvriers agricoles.

Ukraine

Déminage

Les démineur·euses de la FSD s’attellent à décontaminer les zones où les combats ont cessé. Les mines et munitions non explosées sont excavées et neutralisées pour permettre aux habitant·es de se déplacer, d’utiliser les infrastructures et de cultiver leurs champs en toute sécurité.

Excavation-of-an-explosive-device-Ukraine
Ukraine

Soutien à l’éducation

Jusqu’en février 2022, la FSD a participé à la réhabilitation d’écoles et de jardins d’enfants situés le long de l’ancienne ligne de contact dans la région du Donbass. Ce projet a été suspendu.

Support to education, Ukraine
Ukraine

Sensibilisation aux dangers des mines

Les équipes de la FSD mènent des campagnes en ligne et en face à face pour sensibiliser les populations, en particulier les plus jeunes, aux dangers des mines et munitions non explosées.

Des campagnes de sensibilisation aux risques sont également proposées en ligne, via Facebook, sur la page dédiée de la FSD, BezMin.info.

distribution of prevention materials Ukraine

La FSD en Ukraine

L’engagement de la FSD en Ukraine remonte au début 2015. L’objectif était alors de réduire autant que possible le nombre de victimes civiles en apprenant aux habitants à « cohabiter » avec les mines et munitions non explosées en relative sécurité jusqu’à ce que toutes les zones contaminées soient déminées.

Afin de sensibiliser davantage de personnes aux risques des mines, la FSD déploie également des campagnes de prévention en ligne par le biais des réseaux sociaux.

En 2017, la FSD a entamé un programme de déminage pour localiser et détruire les mines et les munitions non explosées. À ce jour, près de 5 millions de mètres carrés de terres ont été inspectées et déminées.

Fin 2019, un nouveau projet a été lancé, visant à renforcer l’accès à l’éducation dans les zones de guerre. En visitant des écoles et des crèches lors de ses missions de sensibilisation au danger des mines, le personnel de la FSD a en effet pu constater l’ampleur des destructions infligées aux infrastructures scolaires et l’impact dévastateur du conflit sur la vie quotidienne des enfants.

Suite à une campagne spéciale d’appel aux dons, la FSD a pu mener une évaluation des besoins dans les écoles et maternelles situées le long de la ligne de front et a commencé la réhabilitation des établissements endommagés.

En 2022, avec l’intensification et la généralisation des combats à tout le pays, les activités de la FSD été réorientées pour apporter une aide humanitaire d’urgence pour mieux soutenir la population. Le déminage et l’éducation aux risques se sont ensuite déplacés dans l’Oblast de Chernihiv.

Nos activités

Nos projets humanitaires se concentrent sur quatre axes.

logo mines

lutte antimines

La FSD localise et neutralise les mines et munitions non-explosées, sensibilise les populations affectées par ce fléau, et prête assistance aux survivants d'explosions accidentelles.

logo relèvement

relèvement & stabilité

La FSD appuie des processus de paix en cours dans différents pays et accompagne les communautés vulnérables via des projets de soutien socio-économique.

logo protection environnement

environnement

La FSD assainit des sites contaminés par des substances toxiques héritées du passé et agit pour promouvoir la biodiversité et la résilience face au changement climatique.

logo innovation

innovation &
technologies

La FSD collabore à des projets de recherche visant à mettre les nouvelles technologies, notamment les drones, au service de la lutte antimines et de l'action humanitaire.

newsletter

Où la FSD travaille-t-elle actuellement en Ukraine? À quoi ressemble une mine? Des réponses à vos questions, une fois par mois.

  • Nouvelles du terrain
  • Vidéos de déminage
  • Interviews d'expert·es
  • Événements
  • Offres d'emploi
Démineuse en plein travail, en haut d'une colline